Three silent films: A Woman of Paris & La Passion de Jeanne d’Arc & Autumn Fire

I saw three silent films today.

A Woman of Paris (Charles Chaplin: 1923) for the first time. It was quite good. Not his best but surprisingly good. I would give it 8/10.

Then I saw La Passion de Jeanne d’Arc (Carl Theodor Dreyer: 1928) for the hundredth time. I just love this film. My favorite scene is the torture chamber. Amazing editing! I also love the connections to the life of Christ. There was one thing that I noticed that I had not noticed before. There are two scenes when there is a fly in Jeanne face and they are trying to trap her in both cases. Look for it next time you see the film.

Then I saw Autumn Fire (Herman G. Weinberg: 1931) again, the 15 min. version. I really like this film, especially the time factor. It looks like they are thinking about each other at the same time but in the end we see that he was in present but she was in the past. Just live it.

2 Comments »

  1. The Passion of Joan of Arc can be seen online for free at MaidofHeaven.com

    http://www.maidofheaven.com/joanofarc_videos_movies.asp

  2. Maximus said

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

